The Beatitudes set the tone for the sermon by emphasizing man's humility and God's righteousness.

Each of the eight Beatitudes is an expansion on the ideal heart condition of a kingdom citizen---A condition that brings abundant spiritual blessing.

1. Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

2. Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

3. Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

4. Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

5. Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

6. Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

7. Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

8. Blessed are they which are persecuted fr righteousness' sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

 Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.

Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.

Matthew 5: 3-12 


1. "Poor in spirit" refers to awareness of spiritual bankruptcy apart from Christ.

2. To "mourn" is to be grieved and broken over sin.

3. The "meek" like Christ, exemplify gentleness and self control.

4. "Hunger and thirst" is a vivid description of those who crave God's righteousness.

5. The "merciful" are both forgiving and compassionate.

6. To be "pure in heart" refers to that internal cleansing necessary for entering God's presence.

7. The "peacemakers" are those who invite men to be reconciled to God and to one another.

8. Finally, there is a blessing for those who are "persecuted for righteousness sake". It is normal for the world to oppose kingdom citizens....Amen